kielo
Learning Article : Advice For 6 Common Mistakes French Learners Make

Discuss the Article : Advice For 6 Common Mistakes French Learners Make

<a href='/article/174/advice-for-6-common-mistakes-french-learners-make' target='_blank'>Advice For 6 Common Mistakes French Learners Make</a>

Some mistakes can considerably slow down the learning process. Here is some advice for avoiding 6 common mistakes and learning more efficiently.

Jun 17, 2014 12:00 AM
Comments · 11

Having learnt French for many many years, I can identify very well with many of the points you made here.  I studied French at both school and university but I can say with confidence that I made the biggest progress after leaving university (and school).  Based on this experience, I have arrived at a few general conclusions.

Firstly, formal classes at school/university are most certainly not a necessary component to succesful language learning.  In fact, I would go as far as to say that formal lessons could be disadvantageous to some because of the "fixed" rate at which the language is taught (I think this is especially true for keener/more able students).  I also very much agree with point no 2 of this article about taking a selective approach to vocab building; in classes you have to learn a lot of useless vocabularly in order to pass the exam. No offence to pedantics, but I also feel that the hours spent in class learning about minute details such as the extra "e" and "s" at the end of words, could have been much better spent learning focussing on expression and usage!