Kieran
Learning new vocabulary?

I am currently studying Russian and I'm trying to find an effective way to learn vocabulary. What do you like to do? It seems a bit time consuming and not totally effective going through several different lists on different topics. By the time I get to the third page, I'll have forgotten a lot of what was on the first page.

Aug 28, 2014 7:46 PM
Comments · 5

The previous commenters gave you great tips: songs, flashcards, memrise and etc. However, I'd like to remind that all the words are remembered better if you start using them. So instead of going over three pages with three different topics, just pick a topic and start use the words with your language partner. You can repeat it again in your next chat session or return to it after a time. Use your new words actively. Say them, write them in your notebooks and comments. By the way, as a native English speaker your shouldn't have any problem in finding a language partner. Good luck with your Russian!

August 30, 2014

Flashcards are, to my opinion, the most effective way to learn vocabulary during the early stages. The good thing about flashcards is that you can play with them in transport, in a queue, whenever you have a free minute, and memorize the words. Learning words with flashcards is better than just looking at a list of words because, when you see a clearly written single word on a card, you subconsciously memorize how it looks like and associate in with the meaning.